Ingela Parmryd

Ongoing projects:

Ordered plasma membrane domains in T cell signalling

Membrane topography and diffusion in the plasma membrane

γ δ T cells in colon cancer, malaria infection and their activation

Colocalisation Analysis

Expand / collapse all projects

Ordered plasma membrane domains in T cell signalling

We have shown that T cell signalling is initiated upon ordered domain aggregation that can be triggered by cold stress and changes in the plasma membrane lipid composition.  We have recently shown that the T cell receptor in resting T cells resides in ordered domains that are brought together upon receptor engagement.

We are now investigating what is triggering the formation of the ordered domains in more detail and how membrane order affects the molecular clustering that accompanies T cell signalling using techniques like super resolution microscopy and fluorescence correlation spectroscopy.

The localisation of the T cell receptor. The TCR is found in ordered plasma membrane domains that form where actin filaments are pinned to the plasma membrane. To scan the environment TCR-containing ordered domains at the tip of membrane protrusions positions the receptor at an ideal position. From Dinic et al., 2015

Selected publications

Dinic J, Ashrafzadeh P, Parmryd I. (2013) Actin filaments at the plasma membrane in live cells cause the formation of ordered lipid domains. Biochim. Biophys. Acta. 1828, 1102-1111.

Dinic J, Riehl A, Adler J, Parmryd I. (2015) The T cell receptor resides in small ordered plasma membrane domains that aggregate upon patching of the receptor. Sci. Rep. 5:10082.

For further information about this research group please contact
Docent Ingela Parmryd

Financial support


3.2 million SEK


“The functional interplay between lipid packing and molecular clustering in T cell signalling”


3 million SEK


“The expansion of highly potent tumour cell killing γ δ T cells from healthy individuals and cancer patients”


  • Dr Fredrik Bergholm (Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm)
  • Professor Jonas Bergkvist (Department of Chemistry, Uppsala University)
  • Dr Helgi Birgisson (Department of Surgical Sciences, Uppsala University)
  • Professor Ingrid Faye (Department of Molecular Biosciences, Stockholm University)
  • Professor Yuri Korchev & Dr Andrew Shevshuk (Imperial College, London, UK)
  • Drs Ida-Maria Sintorn & Robin Strand(Centre for Image Analysis, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences & Uppsala University)