Group members

The links below lead to the university directory.

Joey Lau Börjesson

Bioengineering strategies to create local protection of ß-cells after transplantation

My research has over the years been focused on β-cell physiology and β-cell replacement as therapy for type 1 diabetes. A main obstacle in β-cell replacement is immunological components hampering graft survival, where innate immune, autoimmune and allogeneic components all contribute. The research in our group is focused on creating a local protection from cellular death combined with induction of local tolerance. Thereby, the opportunity to exclude immunosuppressive drugs from β-cell replacement therapies may be achieved. This would then open the possibility for such treatment for the majority of T1D patients. Since there is a limited number of β-cells available from conventional organ donors for clinical transplantation, protocols are focused on using a renewable source of insulin-producing-cells, pluripotent stem cells, either induced pluripotent or embryonic stem cell derived. The former also provides the opportunity to circumvent allogeneic reactions focusing on innate immune and possible autoimmune components. The strategies included are to diminish innate immunity reactions after transplantation and to coat islets with protective cells such as decidual or mesenchymal stem cells before transplantation. A challenge in this effort is to identify strategies that are clinically translatable, i.e. find a modification that could be accepted as an advanced therapeutic medicinal product (ATMP).

Ongoing Projects...

For further information about this research group please contact Joey Lau Börjesson

Financial support


Juvenile Diabetes Foundation

The Swedish Diabetes Foundation


Åke Wiberg´s Foundation

Swedish Society of Medicine

Lars Hierta’s Memorial Foundation

The Family Ernfors fund

Magnus Bergvalls’s Foundation

Fredrik och Ingrid Thuring’s Foundation

OE&E Johansson’s Foundation

Other funding

  • The research group also takes part of the strategic funding for Diabetes and Stem cells (StemTherapy) shared between Lund and Uppsala Universities.


within the Department of Medical Cell Biology:

  • Prof. PO Carlsson
  • Prof. Anders Tengholm
  • Assoc. Prof. Olof Idevall-Hagren
  • Prof. Bo Hellman
  • Assoc. Prof. Eva Grapengiesser

outside the Department of Medical Cell Biology:

  • Prof. Jöns Hillborn (Ångström Laboratory, Uppsala University)
  • Assoc. Prof. Oommen Varghese (Ångström Laboratory, Uppsala University)
  • Assoc. Prof. Yuji Teramura (Dept. of Bioengineering, The University of Tokyo)
  • Prof. Göran Andersson (Dept. of Animal Breeding and Genetics, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences)
  • Assoc. Prof. Bodil Ström-Holst (Department of Clinical Sciences, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences)
  • Prof. Britt Skogseid (Department of Medical Sciences, Uppsala University)
  • Assoc. Prof. Azita Monazzam (Department of Medical Sciences, Uppsala University)
  • Assoc. Prof. Anna Dimberg (Department of Immunology, Genetics and Pathology, Uppsala University)